Meet Ian

Meet Ian:
He’s an Aussie
He’s a lady’s hat maker
He’s a costume designer and wardrobe manager for plays
His heart melts when he hears Roberta Fleck’s “First Time I Ever Saw Your Face”
He made is way to the Texas via Australia, Toronto, Calgary, Montana, Colorado and now Dallas b/c he’s niece is here.
And he’s my newest friend.

Last week he “tried” to teach me to make poppies.

I don’t remember exactly how I signed up for making poppies, but within minutes of meeting Ian, he was very specifically giving me the shopping list for the project:
• Red, green and black crepe paper, not that tissue paper crap
• And the green, make sure it’s a good green
• 1 large wooden knitting needle
• 1 small wooden knitting needle, you should be able to buy just one
• cotton backing, you know the kind used to stuff quilts? That’s the stuff
• Green flower wire, well it doesn’t have to be green, we’ll cover it up
• scissors, bring scissors, no one can ever find any around here

He “tried” to teach me, but unfortunately when we tried to improvise with the materials I brought, they were not quite up to par.

Now I’m in search of crepe paper, and not the stuff that comes in rolls for decorating 1980’s proms, but sheets of crepe paper. It’s not at Michael’s, Hobby Lobby or Joann’s . . . tomorrow’s errands include crepe paper searching.

Stay tuned to see the finished flowers!

Leave a comment