Rocky Mountain National Park: Bible Point

The last 2 mornings in Estes Park, I woke up early for a hike to see the sunrise. The first time a storm was rolling in and I wondered if I should turn back, I’m thankful I pressed on, because the view was magnificent. Some may have missed seeing the sunrise, but watching the clouds roll, clash and move through the mountains was spectacular.

Another spectacular sight was that of this headstone.

In 1918, Edwin Bradt, son of world traveling missionaries – died when he was nineteen. This spot was his favorite in all the world and where he asked to be buried. His tombstone touched me deeply – one line reads:

“A Normal Life: And he advanced in wisdom and stature, favor with God and favor with man.”

This verse was taught to me as a nine year old at Kanakuk Kamps: the 4-square life – Luke 2:52: “And Jesus grew in wisdom, stature, favor with God and favor with man.”

Although in this life I will continue to fall short, I chose to live this 4-square life. And the second morning, the sun rose and blanketed over the mountains:

AMEN.

1 thought on “Rocky Mountain National Park: Bible Point

Leave a comment